

THE NATIONAL MALE CHOIR OF NEW ZEALAND Inc. MINUTES of Annual General Meeting held on Saturday September 22nd 2018 Ellesmere College Hall Leeston at 5 pm

- 1. Present Maurie Smith, President, Warwyck Dewe Treasurer, J Christensen [Music Director] A. Baber, J. Botting, D. Brown, K. Brown, T.Clemow, T. Davies, I. Doel, J Fisher, R MacDonald,T Ross, G Simpson. D Ayers, N Sawyer, R Curr, R Gunston, B Patchett, R Seymour, S Lee, A Townley, R Sedgley, N Phillips, D Evans, S Adam, R Ord, A King, A Holden, G Willemsen, R Crabtree, N Stewart, M Gander, D Mitchell
 - I. Gabites, P. Grey, R Gunston, J. Kember, G. Keelty, A. King, O Lane, J. Masters, Royce Dewe [secretary] Anne Connolly –Munt, Sue Smith, Kim Ross.
- 2. Apologies: Jim Lischner, Tim Leahy, Alex Wiltshire, Robin Fuller, Dave Mandeno, Murray Marshall, Norm Collie, Alan Smith, Anthony Joines, Bryan Barrett,
- 3. Acknowledgement of Deceased Member Dave Spiers.
- **4. Minutes of Meeting held on Monday 23, October 2017** which had been circulated were confirmed as a True and Correct Record.

Moved Gordon Keelty; seconded Gerard Willemsen

- 5. Matters Arising from Minutes: No matters arising
- 6. President's Report

Maurie Smith presented his report as President. As attached.

Maurie Smith MOVED the Adoption of his Report, SECONDED Doug Evans. Carried.

7. Financial Report

Treasurer **Warwyck** Dewe spoke to the accounts which had been circulated showing a net operating surplus of \$13,973.

Warwyck Dewe MOVED the Adoption of his report SECONDED Jim Fisher. Carried.

2018-2019 Budget

Warwyck presented a Budget for the coming year showing a deficit of \$9090 before any applications for funding from Gaming Trusts. The choir has had reasonable success in previous years in securing funding from these sources to cover Music team travel and accommodation costs.

8. Subscription for financial year commencing 1 July 2019:

Motion MOVED by Treasurer Warwyck Dewe – seconded Maurie Smith. Carried.

That the annual subscription for active members of the NZ Male Choir for the year commencing 1 July 2019 be \$125.

Maurie thanked Warwyck for the considerable effort and time that he puts in to keeping the finances in a healthy place.

9. Music Director's Report - Joe spoke to his report as attached.

Mark von Dadelszen commented on the improvement of the choir over the past two years, how he is personally challenged and enjoys the results.

Music Director Joe Christensen Moved the Adoption of his Report
Seconded John Kember CARRIED

10. Librarian's Report: Ken Brown spoke to his report that had been circulated prior to the meeting.

Mark von Dadelszen (who has professional knowledge about copyright issues) advised that the Choir and individual members were not legally entitled to copy music that was subject to copyright protection and that almost all music the Choir currently sings is copyright-protected. Quite apart from the potential impact of financial penalties for infringement of copyright, the Choir would suffer reputational damage in the event of any identified infringement.

11. Election of Officers

President John Botting –nominated Maurie Smith/Warwyck Dewe
 Vice-President Tony Ross nominated John Botting/ Maurie Smith

- Secretary Royce Dewe re - elected
- Treasurer Warwyck Dewe re-elected
- North Island representative Rob Crabtree re elected
- South Island Representative Taffy Davies re-elected

Librarian(s) Ken Brown

- John Kember - South Island re-elected

Norman Phillips to take up this role beginning 2019.

Patron To be followed up by Management Committee.

 Zone Chairmen, Andrew Baber Northern Zone and Brian Patchett Southern Zone. As elected by North & South annual meetings

CONFIRMED by the AGM.

Maurie Smith congratulated John Botting as newly elected President and handed over the Chair to John Botting.

A presentation was made to Maurie in acknowledgement of his role as President over the past two years and to both Maurie & Sue for their generous hospitality to the Choir.

- 13. Schedule of Tours, Concerts and Rehearsals for 2019 circulated. Moved schedule be adopted. John Botting/Tony Clemow.
- **14.Tour Committee Report** including Report on Australian Tour June 2018. Ian Gabites updated the meeting on the proposed International Tour in Europe June /July 2021. Moved Ian Gabites seconded Taffy Davies. Accepted with acclamation.
- 15. Special Resolution: That Clause 7.2.3 of the constitution [set out below] be deleted "7.2.3 To elect a Patron, the Management Committee (with the exception of the Zone Chairmen), and one or more Librarians. The President shall be elected every second annual

general meeting (biennially) and shall hold office for two years and shall not be eligible for immediate re-election. If the President departs office during his two-year term, the two-year cycle shall start again from the next annual general meeting."

AND that the following clause be substituted:

"7.2.3 To elect a Patron, the Management Committee (with the exception of the Zone Chairmen), and one or more Librarians. The President shall be elected every second annual general meeting (biennially) and shall hold office for two years. However, at the end of a two year term the President may be elected for a further one year, but shall not be eligible for further immediate re-election. If the President departs office during his term of office, the two-year cycle shall start again from the next annual general meeting.

Moved: Maurie Smith

Seconded: Warwyck Dewe.

This resolution was put to the meeting. After discussion re continuity being desirable but motion also gives flexibility, the motion was put and CARRIED.

16. General Business: There was no	General Business.
The meeting closed at 5.23 pm.	
Signed as a true and correct record	President
	Date